The original idea behind the formation of this Lodge was to have a University of Guyana Lodge, but the University authorities were not willing to have their name used for a Lodge of Freemasons. As much of the preparatory work for a new Lodge had been done, the would-be founders were reluctant to abandon the idea. The concept of the Lodge was changed to attract persons with a University background and ‘Eureka’ considered a suitable name. The founders were fortified by the weight of cosmic authority. The foundation of such a lodge, according to the late Bro. Justice Sydney Miller, goes back “to the time whereof the memory of man runneth not to the contrary.”

On January 30, 1973, Mount Olive Lodge held an emergency meeting to consider and, if thought fit, approve a Motion to recommend for the favourable consideration of the District Grand Master and of the Most Worshipful Grand Master the Petition for a proposed Lodge to be known as the Eureka Lodge.

The motion proposed by the Master, Bro. C N Murray, and seconded by the Immediate Past Master, Bro. Dr. C C Nicholson, was carried unanimously. The Warrant for the Lodge was approved in March 1973 and Eureka Lodge was consecrated at Freemason’s Hall Company Path on Tuesday September 25, 1973 by the Right Worshipful District Grand Master, the Archbishop of the West Indies.

The Founders and First Officers were:

Mr. Justice J Lyttleton Wills                       Master

E.B. Hasnudeen                                             Senior Warden

Justice R. Sydney Miller                              Junior warden

Cyril V Too-Chung                                        Chaplain

Kenneth K Ho                                                Treasurer

Peter A Taylor                                               Secretary

Dr. Chales C Nicholson                               Director of Ceremonies

Felix C B Baird                                               Senior Decon

Dr. Patrick M Ng-A-Fook                           Junior Decon

Edward G Hopkinson                                  Asst. Director of Ceremonies

Dr. Mohamed M. Haniff                             Almoner

Cecil N Murray                                             Asst. Secretary

Carl D. Veecock                                           Inner Guard

Royston B Ying                                             Steward

M.Emram Ali                                               Steward

Orminston O Carter                                     Steward

Milton R D. Ganpatsingh                            Tyler

The Banner, designed by W. Bro. O. O. Carter PDistJGW and painted by Marjorie Broodhagen was dedicated at the Regular Meeting of the Lodge on June 27, 1978 by the Chaplain.

Regular meetings of the Lodge were held five times a year with the installation meeting on the fourth Saturday in November. It is of interest to note that Degree Workings were also held prior to the installation Ceremony. At these installation meetings too, it was customary for the Honorary Members to occupy the positions of Senior Warden, Junior Warden and Inner Guard at the appropriate time during the meeting. Honorary Members also delivered the Address to the Wardens and the Address to the Brethren.

In March 1977, a resolution in the name of the Master to increase the number of meetings to eight was passed unanimously.


Please wait...

Subscribe to DGL

Want to be notified when new posts are published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know!